Girls Kick Butt

How often have you picked up a book and thought, I want to be this girl…

It happens to me every time I pick up a book by Tamora Pierce. Now that I am finally reading her earliest books, I understand the power that she gives to the young women reading her books. I wish that I had the influence of Alanna, Daine, and Kel when I was younger. I’ll settle for having them now, though.

New York Comic Con 2011 hosted a panel called “Girls Kick Butt: Strong Female Heroines in Young Adult Fantasy”. This panel contained my idol, Tamora Pierce, Esther Friesner, and Caitlin Kittredge. These three women are renowned for their strong female characters and their vivid fantasy settings. The Con, as always, was a madhouse of pressing bodies, interesting costumes, and fans looking for the chance to get close to the things they love. Not too far from “Girls Kick Butt” panel was the Avengers panel, hording the attention of most con-goers. Luckily, the faithful can not be swayed and our three inspiring authors had a packed room of anxious and hopeful readers.

Offering insights to history, feminism, and the development of fantasy, Pierce, Friesner, and Kittredge took us through their experiences in writing strong female characters. Buzzgirl of the Random Buzzers Blog was also in attendance and was able to film the panel in three parts. Be sure to check them out and see what other awesome things they have to offer. Please watch the videos taken by Buzzgirl, enjoy, and don’t be surprised when they break out into song!

 

New York Comic Con was a bed of activity. Free books, new books, artists, costumes, and the excitement of being surrounded by like minded people kept my group going the entire weekend. Between wand dueling, a quidditch match, meeting Chris Evans (the author, not Captain America), and having our picture taken by people appreciating our costumes, I can safely say that Comic Con was an intense experience that I look forward to repeating.

Leave a Reply

